tammymercure:

First, let me apologize for preaching to the choir. Everyone I know on Tumblr has been super cool and one of the reasons I love Tumblr is there is a lot of built-in equity.

Selektor Magazine just posted the first 100 photographers that they have featured. It really bummed me out to see only 8 or so women on there. Everyone can have their personal taste and I don’t mean any neg to Loic or the magazine, but there is still systematic sexism at work in the photo world. Men still get more gallery shows/features because they get more press for it and then they get more press because they get more gallery shows/features, etc etc. I’ve been slowly making wikipedia pages for notable woman photographers and it has been really eye-opening on what wikipedia considers credible resources and how few are available online for undeniably notable women. 

I’ve seen great strides in equity for women and people with diverse backgrounds in publications like VICE and most places on Tumblr. With power shifting out from the typical places there has been so much cool stuff happening- tons of amazing self published books, pop-up galleries, collectives, and more. I love Tumblr because people can use it to express themselves in whatever manner they choose and it is easy to find true friends and inspiration here.

I quickly made a list of awesome women photographers on tumblr if you are looking for some fine people to follow. (And sorry if I missed someone I love in my haste to make a list.) And feel free to message me with people you think I’d love!

Michelle K Anderson http://michelleka.tumblr.com/

Courtney Asztalos http://courtneyasztalos.tumblr.com/

Vivien Ayroles http://blog.vivienayroles.fr/

Sophie Barbasch http://sophiebarbasch.tumblr.com/

Kendrick Brinson http://kendrickbrinson.tumblr.com/

Hannah Burton http://hannahburtonphotography.tumblr.com/

Jessica Dean Camp http://jessicadeancamp.tumblr.com/

Marisha Camp http://marishacamp.tumblr.com/

Sam Cannon http://samcannon.tumblr.com/

Lindsay D’Addato http://lindsaydaddato.tumblr.com/

Rebecca Drolen http://rebeccadrolen.tumblr.com/

Jessica Eaton http://jessicaeaton.tumblr.com/

Jen Ervin http://jenervinblog.tumblr.com/

Lynley Faith http://lynleyfaith.tumblr.com/

Sarah Amy Fishlock http://sarahamyfishlock.tumblr.com/

Vivian Fu http://vivian-fu.tumblr.com/

Lydia Garnett http://lydiagarnett.tumblr.com/

Marisa Gertz http://marisagertz.tumblr.com/

Lisa Gidley http://lisagidley.tumblr.com/

Michelle Groskopf  http://dailystreet.tumblr.com/

Alexis Gross http://alexisgrossphotography.tumblr.com/

Marcie Hancock http://marciehancock.tumblr.com/

Becky Harlan http://beckyharlan.tumblr.com/

Molly Hayes http://mollyhayes.tumblr.com/

Cynthia Henebry http://marciehancock.tumblr.com/

Hobbes http://hhobbess.tumblr.com/

Jenny Hueston http://jennyhueston.tumblr.com/

Elizabeth Huey http://elizabeth-huey.tumblr.com/

Janna Ireland http://blog.jannaireland.com

Marta Iwanek http://martaiwanek.tumblr.com/

Julie Renee Jones http://juliereneejones.tumblr.com/

Megan King http://megangking.tumblr.com/

Cait Kovac http://caitkovac.tumblr.com/

Stacy Kranitz http://stacykranitz.tumblr.com/

Allyson Lamb http://allysonannelamb.tumblr.com/

Lodoe Laura http://lodoelaura.tumblr.com/

Kate Levy http://katelevyphotography.tumblr.com/

Morgan Rachel Levy http://morganrlevy.tumblr.com/

Amy Lombard http://amylombard.tumblr.com/

Yael Malka http://yaelmalka.tumblr.com/

Colleen Mann http://colleenmann.tumblr.com/

Maidje Marilyn http://www.maidjemarilyn.com/

Alex Matzke http://alexmatzke.tumblr.com/

Brittany Marcoux http://brittanymarcoux.tumblr.com/

Molly Matalon http://mollymatalon.tumblr.com/

Noelle McCleaf http://noellemccleaf.tumblr.com/

Ruth McMilan http://www.ruthmcm.com/

Lindsay Metivier http://lindsaymetivier.tumblr.com/

Elaine Catherine Miller http://ecmiller.tumblr.com/

Sarah Katherine Moore http://sarahkatherinemoore.tumblr.com/

Andrea Morales http://andreamoralesphoto.tumblr.com/

Eva O’Leary http://evaoleary.tumblr.com/

Cait Oppermann http://caitoppermann.tumblr.com/

Elle Perez http://elleperez.tumblr.com/

Helena Price http://blog.helenaprice.com/

Missy Prince http://seaofempties.tumblr.com/

Laurel Ptak http://laurelptak.com/

Lyndsey Putt http://lyndseyputt.tumblr.com/

Lola Quivororon http://lolalolaquivoron.tumblr.com/

Tamara Reynolds http://tamarareynoldsphotography.tumblr.com/

Clementine Schneidermann http://clementineschneider.tumblr.com/

Robin Schwartz http://robinschwartz.tumblr.com/

Maggie Shannon http://maggieshannon.tumblr.com/

Ginevra Shay http://ginevrashay.tumblr.com/

Erin Shipley http://etshipley.tumblr.com

Annie Sollinger http://bunnybunnyrabbit.tumblr.com/

Melissa Stallard http://melissastallard.tumblr.com/

Jamie Steele http://jamiesteele.tumblr.com/

Samantha Sutcliffe http://samanthasutcliffe.tumblr.com/

Shannon Taggart http://shannon-taggart.tumblr.com/

Yvonne Todd http://yvonnetodd.tumblr.com/

Lauren Wansker http://laurenwansker.tumblr.com/

LIndley Warren http://lindleywarren.tumblr.com/

Elizabeth Weinberg http://scrapbook.elizabethweinberg.com/

Sara J Winston http://jwwwinston.tumblr.com/

Tara Wray http://tarawray.tumblr.com/

Jaclyn Wright http://jaclynrwright.tumblr.com/

Jessica Xie http://jessicaxiephoto.tumblr.com/

Suzanna Zak http://neithernor.tumblr.com/

And check out Accent Magazine http://blog.accent-magazine.com/  and Las Brujas de Plata http://lasbrujasdeplata.tumblr.com/.

Thank you for this list Tammy. 

Categories: photography,
Kozivka, Ukraine. May, 2014. Fishing with my cousin in-law and Ihor.

Kozivka, Ukraine. May, 2014. Fishing with my cousin in-law and Ihor.

Zaporizhia, Ukraine. May, 2014. 

Zaporizhia, Ukraine. May, 2014. 

Categories: Ukraine, Zaporizhia,
Volyn, Ukraine. June 2014. 

Volyn, Ukraine. June 2014. 

Categories: Ukraine, Volyn, Lutsk,
Teta Marika. Lutsk, Ukraine, June 2014.

Teta Marika. Lutsk, Ukraine, June 2014.

Genya. Ukraine, May 2014.

Genya. Ukraine, May 2014.

On route to Kyiv. Ukraine. January 2014. 

On route to Kyiv. Ukraine. January 2014. 

Shoe Route
TOMS shoes donations distributed by Nove Pokolinnya in Ukraine. Help Us Help the Children and Nove Pokolinnya are non-profit organizations aimed at helping orphans in Ukraine. As a volunteer of their organization for many years, I know first hand how much good they do through aid and also summer and winter camps which are just magical. To help send an orphan to camp you can donate here: http://huhtc.org/
Photos by Marta Iwanek for Help Us Help the Children/ Nove Pokolinnya.
Shoe Route
TOMS shoes donations distributed by Nove Pokolinnya in Ukraine. Help Us Help the Children and Nove Pokolinnya are non-profit organizations aimed at helping orphans in Ukraine. As a volunteer of their organization for many years, I know first hand how much good they do through aid and also summer and winter camps which are just magical. To help send an orphan to camp you can donate here: http://huhtc.org/
Photos by Marta Iwanek for Help Us Help the Children/ Nove Pokolinnya.
Shoe Route
TOMS shoes donations distributed by Nove Pokolinnya in Ukraine. Help Us Help the Children and Nove Pokolinnya are non-profit organizations aimed at helping orphans in Ukraine. As a volunteer of their organization for many years, I know first hand how much good they do through aid and also summer and winter camps which are just magical. To help send an orphan to camp you can donate here: http://huhtc.org/
Photos by Marta Iwanek for Help Us Help the Children/ Nove Pokolinnya.

Shoe Route

TOMS shoes donations distributed by Nove Pokolinnya in Ukraine. Help Us Help the Children and Nove Pokolinnya are non-profit organizations aimed at helping orphans in Ukraine. As a volunteer of their organization for many years, I know first hand how much good they do through aid and also summer and winter camps which are just magical. To help send an orphan to camp you can donate here: http://huhtc.org/

Photos by Marta Iwanek for Help Us Help the Children/ Nove Pokolinnya.

Liza and Vitali’s wedding. Maidan, May 2014.
Photo by Marta Iwanek for Radio Free Europe. 

Liza and Vitali’s wedding. Maidan, May 2014.

Photo by Marta Iwanek for Radio Free Europe. 

Categories: Ukraine, Kyiv, Maidan,
Writer Mark MacKinnon and I worked this piece about the voices of ordinary voices in Ukraine during the May elections. To read the story click here: http://www.theglobeandmail.com/news/world/in-informal-exit-polls-ukrainians-reveal-how-they-cast-their-ballots/article18836970/
Photos by Marta Iwanek for the Globe and Mail. 
Writer Mark MacKinnon and I worked this piece about the voices of ordinary voices in Ukraine during the May elections. To read the story click here: http://www.theglobeandmail.com/news/world/in-informal-exit-polls-ukrainians-reveal-how-they-cast-their-ballots/article18836970/
Photos by Marta Iwanek for the Globe and Mail. 

Writer Mark MacKinnon and I worked this piece about the voices of ordinary voices in Ukraine during the May elections. To read the story click here: http://www.theglobeandmail.com/news/world/in-informal-exit-polls-ukrainians-reveal-how-they-cast-their-ballots/article18836970/

Photos by Marta Iwanek for the Globe and Mail. 

Categories: Ukraine, Kyiv, elections,
General election day photos from Kyiv in May.
Photos by Marta Iwanek for the Globe and Mail. 
General election day photos from Kyiv in May.
Photos by Marta Iwanek for the Globe and Mail. 
General election day photos from Kyiv in May.
Photos by Marta Iwanek for the Globe and Mail. 
General election day photos from Kyiv in May.
Photos by Marta Iwanek for the Globe and Mail. 
General election day photos from Kyiv in May.
Photos by Marta Iwanek for the Globe and Mail. 
General election day photos from Kyiv in May.
Photos by Marta Iwanek for the Globe and Mail. 
General election day photos from Kyiv in May.
Photos by Marta Iwanek for the Globe and Mail. 
General election day photos from Kyiv in May.
Photos by Marta Iwanek for the Globe and Mail. 

General election day photos from Kyiv in May.

Photos by Marta Iwanek for the Globe and Mail. 

Categories: Ukraine, Kyiv,
Kyiv before the elections in May. 
Photos by Marta Iwanek for the Globe and Mail. 
Kyiv before the elections in May. 
Photos by Marta Iwanek for the Globe and Mail. 
Kyiv before the elections in May. 
Photos by Marta Iwanek for the Globe and Mail. 
Kyiv before the elections in May. 
Photos by Marta Iwanek for the Globe and Mail. 
Kyiv before the elections in May. 
Photos by Marta Iwanek for the Globe and Mail. 
Kyiv before the elections in May. 
Photos by Marta Iwanek for the Globe and Mail. 
Kyiv before the elections in May. 
Photos by Marta Iwanek for the Globe and Mail. 
Kyiv before the elections in May. 
Photos by Marta Iwanek for the Globe and Mail. 
Kyiv before the elections in May. 
Photos by Marta Iwanek for the Globe and Mail. 
Kyiv before the elections in May. 
Photos by Marta Iwanek for the Globe and Mail. 

Kyiv before the elections in May. 

Photos by Marta Iwanek for the Globe and Mail. 

Categories: Ukraine, Kyiv,
It was such a gift to photograph my first assignment for the Globe and Mail in Ukraine earlier in May. I got to spend some time with Sergey Vasiliev and his family. To read the story by Mark MacKinnon click here: http://www.theglobeandmail.com/news/world/ukraine-unrest-drives-brothers-to-different-sides-of-europes-new-cold-war/article18829292/?page=all
Photos by Marta Iwanek for the Globe and Mail. 
It was such a gift to photograph my first assignment for the Globe and Mail in Ukraine earlier in May. I got to spend some time with Sergey Vasiliev and his family. To read the story by Mark MacKinnon click here: http://www.theglobeandmail.com/news/world/ukraine-unrest-drives-brothers-to-different-sides-of-europes-new-cold-war/article18829292/?page=all
Photos by Marta Iwanek for the Globe and Mail. 
It was such a gift to photograph my first assignment for the Globe and Mail in Ukraine earlier in May. I got to spend some time with Sergey Vasiliev and his family. To read the story by Mark MacKinnon click here: http://www.theglobeandmail.com/news/world/ukraine-unrest-drives-brothers-to-different-sides-of-europes-new-cold-war/article18829292/?page=all
Photos by Marta Iwanek for the Globe and Mail. 

It was such a gift to photograph my first assignment for the Globe and Mail in Ukraine earlier in May. I got to spend some time with Sergey Vasiliev and his family. To read the story by Mark MacKinnon click here: http://www.theglobeandmail.com/news/world/ukraine-unrest-drives-brothers-to-different-sides-of-europes-new-cold-war/article18829292/?page=all

Photos by Marta Iwanek for the Globe and Mail. 

Categories: Ukraine, Kyiv,
Ukraine. January 2014. 

Ukraine. January 2014. 

Vodohreshcha. Ukraine. January 2014.

Vodohreshcha. Ukraine. January 2014.